Viivo End of Life

Effective July 1st, 2017 PKWARE has announced End of Life for Viivo.

The Viivo service will remain online until July 1st, 2018.  Users of the free and commercial versions will have one year of support in which it is recomended that they move their data to a different service.  While it is possible to continue to use Viivo after the service has been shutdown, it will not be possible to register new devices, or create new Viivo Assets. For this reason, we strongly suggest you evaluate and move to another solution.

 

How to securely move your data from Viivo to another encryption service

See below for specific instructions related to your configuration:

Click here for the Viivo Forums (additional help and resources)

 

Decrypting data from a Sync-Locker (aka Classic Locker/Tunnel)

Back to Top

 

You will want to complete these steps for each of your lockers.

 

1. Plan Ahead

With a synced locker, you already have unencrypted copies of your data files within the unencrypted folder. As such, no decryption is required.

It is recommended to uncheck the Viivo Manager options to “Enable on Startup” and “Stay signed in” so that Viivo does not inadvertently restart.

 

2. Shut down your cloud-sync application

On the machine where you will be decrypting all your files, shutdown the Cloud syncing application. Typically, cloud syncing applications have a system tray icon (down by the clock) which can be paused or exited.

 

3. Disable the locker

Open the Viivo Manager, then navigate to the Lockers tab. Find the Locker in question, and click the Settings Gear icon. From the menu that opens, select the "Disable Locker" option. This will prevent Viivo from processing files within this folder pair.

 

4. Exit the Viivo Manager

The Viivo-encrypted files and folders may now be deleted from your cloud-sync folder.

If you wish to have your unencrypted data synced to the cloud, place copies of those files into your cloud-sync folder as desired.

After you have moved the desired files, restart your cloud-sync app, and allow the data to be synchronized.

At this point, you may now uninstall the Viivo application.

 

 

Decrypting data from a non-syncing Locker

Back to Top

 

Complete these steps for each of your lockers.
1. Plan Ahead

Choose the destination folder on your PC into which you wish to have Viivo place the unencrypted copies of your data files. Remember this location as it will be used in a later step below. Also, if you are migrating your data to another solution, you might want to decrypt your data to a temporary folder location on your desktop before migrating into another service.

It is recommended to uncheck the Viivo Manager options to “Enable on Startup” and “Stay signed in” so that Viivo does not inadvertently restart.

 
2. Shut down your cloud-sync application

On the machine where you will be decrypting all your files, shutdown the Cloud syncing application. Typically, cloud syncing applications have a system tray icon (down by the clock) which can be paused or exited.

 

3. Navigate to the Viivo Locker to decrypt files

After navigating in Windows Explorer or in Finder on macOS, right-click on the Locker folder and select the Viivo, Decrypt-To option. On Windows, you should see the option from the Viivo sub-menu in the right-click options.




On macOS, you should see this option in the "Services" sub-menu options




In the window that opens following selecting the "Decrypt-To" option, select the folder to decrypt all your files to (created in Step 1 above).

 

4. Disable the locker

After decrypting all your data, it's time to disable the Locker. Open the Viivo Manager, then navigate to the Lockers tab. Find the Locker that you just decrypted the data from, and click the Settings Gear icon. From the menu that opens, select the "Disable Locker" option. This will disable Viivo from protecting this folder.

 

5. Exit the Viivo Manager

The Viivo-Encrypted files may be removed from your cloud-sync folder. If you wish to have the unencrypted copies of your data files synced with your cloud provider, you may move them to your cloud-sync folder as desired.

Restart your cloud-sync app, and allow the data to be synchronized.

At this point, you may now uninstall the Viivo application.

 

 

 

Note: Files syncing between multiple computers

Back to Top


Before starting to decrypt your Viivo data, turn off the Cloud Syncing software on all of your other computer systems.

On each computer, uncheck the Viivo Manager options to “Enable on Startup” and “Stay signed in” (so that Viivo does not inadvertently restart).



Exit the Viivo Manager on all of your computer systems as well.

Choose one of your computers to serve as your "main" system, to be used to decrypt your shared data. Follow the appropriate steps above to decrypt your data on this computer.

After the data has been decrypted / reorganized / resynchronized as desired on this system, you will allow the changes to be synchronized with each of your other systems in turn.

Choose one of your other shared systems, and restart the Clound Syncing app. When the data has been fully synchronized on this second system, the Viivo software may be uninstalled from the computer.

Repeat the steps above on each of your other computer systems as applicable, one at a time.

 

Note: Files Synced With Other Viivo Users

Back to Top

Before starting, it is important to coordinate the file decryption process with all Viivo users connected to the share.

One user should be chosen to perform the decryption.

While the decryption is taking place, it is recommended that the other Viivo users shut down their Cloud Syncing software and Viivo.

The Viivo user performing the decryption should follow the appropriate steps above to decrypt the data, with one notable change - it is recommended that the decrypted data should always be placed into a new folder outside of Viivo. This will prevent accidental re-encryption by Viivo, and the folder can be used to create a new data share with the other users as desired after the files have been decrypted.

Once the data has been decrypted, re-shared as desired, and re-synced to the cloud, each user should check their folders to ensure all files are present. Once satisfied, the Viivo encrypted files may be deleted, and Viivo may be uninstalled.
 

 

Final Installers